MEGAResFrom MEG, the Microbial Ecology Group

VanE-type resistance protein

The vancomycin resistance gene clusters contain three general categories of genes, the core resistance proteins (VanHAX), the accessory proteins (VanJKWYZ and MurF2), and the sensor-regulator genes (VanRS). The core resistance proteins are typically VanHAX and encode the D-Lac/Ser dehydrogenase, D-ala-D-lac/ser ligase, and dipeptidase, respectively. The VanE resistance cluster is acquired and similar to VanC. It is characterized by low-level resistance to vancomycin and susceptibility to teicoplanin. Its terminal product is D-ala-D-ser.



Other Mechanisms in Glycopeptides



Download Sequences