MEGAResFrom MEG, the Microbial Ecology Group

VanD-type resistance protein

The vancomycin resistance gene clusters contain three general categories of genes, the core resistance proteins (VanHAX), the accessory proteins (VanJKWYZ and MurF2), and the sensor-regulator genes (VanRS). The core resistance proteins are typically VanHAX and encode the D-Lac/Ser dehydrogenase, D-ala-D-lac/ser ligase, and dipeptidase, respectively. The VanD resistance cluster is similar to VanA and VanB in that it is acquired, but its gene content and phenotype differ. It is constitutively expressed due to a mutation/frameshift in the VanRS genes. Its terminal product is D-ala-D-lac.


Other Mechanisms in Glycopeptides



Download Sequences